Film RadarFilm Radar


advertise with Film Radar

35th Annual Student Academy Awards


Saturday, June 7th at 6:00 p.m.

35th Annual Student Academy Awards
It’s almost time again for one of the Academy’s most popular events: the Student Academy Awards. The ceremony on Saturday, June 7, at 6 p.m., will honor student filmmakers from across the country with Gold, Silver and Bronze Medal awards, along with cash grants of $5,000, $3,000 and $2,000 respectively.

Awards will be presented in four categories: alternative, animation, documentary and narrative. In addition, an Honorary Foreign Film award will be presented to a student filmmaker from outside the United States.

Among past Student Academy Award® winners who have gone on to prominent careers as filmmakers are John Lasseter, Spike Lee, Robert Zemeckis and Trey Parker. At the 2007 Academy Awards, two former student medalists were Oscar® nominees. Documentary filmmakers James Longley, who won a Silver Medal award in 1994, was nominated for his short documentary Sari’s Mother and Amanda Micheli, who won a Silver Medal award in 1996, was nominated for her short documentary La Corona.

Over the years, former Student Academy Award winners have garnered a total of 37 Oscar nominations and have won or shared seven awards.

Notable members of the Academy will serve as presenters for the June 7 ceremony. Clips from the Silver and Bronze Medal-winning films will be shown, and following the award presentations, the Gold Medal-winning films as well as the Honorary Foreign Film will be screened in their entirety.

Admission to the ceremony is FREE, but advance tickets are required.

Tickets available May 1st. A maximum of four tickets may be obtained online, by mail (HTML or PDF format) or at the Academy during regular business hours. The Samuel Goldwyn Theater is located at 8949 Wilshire Boulevard, Beverly Hills. Doors open at 5 p.m. All seating is unreserved. For additional information, please call the Academy at (310) 247-3600.

Official Academy Webpage



Special Events