Film RadarFilm Radar


advertise with Film Radar

7th Annual Focus On Female Directors


Thursday, January 5th @ 7:30pm

7th Annual Focus On Female Directors

(100 min.) This shorts program celebrates the directorial work of cinema pioneers, industry heavyweights, actresses-turned-directors, Oscar and Palme d?Or winners, music video directors, documentarians, animators, and the brightest stars emerging from the international festival circuit. A reception will follow the screening and discussion. All ticket holders eligible to enter a free drawing for a director empowerment bag!

Maryna Vroda?s ?Cross? (2011, 15 min), winner of the Palme d'Or for Best Short Film at the 2011 Cannes Film Festival, is based on the filmmaker?s school memories.

Mollie Jones? ?Animal Love? (2011, 16 min) stars Selma Blair and Jeremy Davies as strangers struggling to connect in a futuristic encounter.

Jess Holzworth?s ?Gamma Ray? (2011, 3 min) starring Chloe Sevigny explores the magical world of the music video for Interscope Records artist Beck.

In Mitsuyo Miyazaki?s ?Tsuyako? (2011, 21 min), a multi-award-winning USC student film, a factory worker in postwar Japan must decide between duty and freedom.

Wonjung Bae?s "Vera Klement: Blunt Edge" (2010, 11 min), a student Academy Award winning documentary, celebrates the Chicago artist?s life and her unyielding attempt to create.

In Saba Riazi?s ?The Wind is Blowing on My Street? (2010, 16 min), a multiple-award winning NYU student film, a young girl in Tehran is accidentally left on the street without her headscarf.

Natasha Subramaniam and Alisa Lapidus? ?Zerg?t? (2011, 6 min) presents a whimsical, very visceral exploration of everyday gastronomic delights.

Penelope Spheeris? ?No Use Walkin' When You Can Stroll? (1998, 11 min) provides a moving and honest portrait of Spheeris' mother, which sheds light on the director's unusual and turbulent childhood years.

Series compiled by Andrew P. Crane, Kim Adelman and Andrea Richards.

Discussion following with directors Penelope Spheeris, Natasha Subramaniam & Alisa Lapidus and others to be announced.